• Pink Ship

The Beauty Supply Store: a Black Girl Aesthetic and a Shoot Location


Afrocentric Beauty Supplies were founded originally because mainstream beauty stores never sold products that would cater to afro hair types or the beauty needs of Black women and families.


Through the decades, the beauty supply store has become a key cultural reference and symbol of nostalgia for many Black women and families across the globe. So much so, that it has even become a favourite location for photo and video shoots.


Our digital marketing client Clore Beauty have become a popular beauty supply in Canada for photo and video shoots. Find some of our favourites below:



Model Portfolio Shoot


Store Location:

Ottawa


Credits:

Creative director: @zeeggy_mercy @imkenzac

Styling: @zeeggy_mercy@imkenzac

Photographer: @annitakayiba

Beauty supply store: @clorebeauty



Haviah Mighty - Protest Ft Yizzy (Official Music Video)


Store Location: Bloor West


BTS


Video Credits: Directors: Kit Weyman (@kitknows) & Chrris Lowe (@chrrislowe)

Production Company: Fela (@fela.tv)

Executive Producers: Taj Critchlow (@tajtheblacklion) & Julien Christian Lutz (@directorx)

Head of Production: Amir Karimi (@boxwinefather)

COO: Dean Rosen (@deanrosen)

Supervising Producer: Carina Mak (@carina.mak)

Line Producer: Joaquin Cardoner (https://joaquincardoner.com)

Director of Photography: Teo Weyman (@teo.weyman)

Camera Operator: Scottie Watson (@scottiewat)

1st AC: Brandon Reitsma (@brandonreitsmadp)

2nd AC: Arman Saturday (@armansaturday)

Gaffer: Rohan Painter (@rohanpainter)

Key Grip: Jakob Nefsky (@jnefsky)

Swing: Dave Griff (@neon_criminal)

1st AD: Tse Daniel (@tsedaniel)

Production PA: Austin MacDonald

Production PA: Jamal Omar (@jamalamaj)

Production PA: Joey Campbell

Stylist: Alexis Kandelas (@lextheplantmom)

MUA: Omega Mighty (@dollfacedrediemua)

Hair Stylist: Kimaveli Locs (@kimavelilocs)

Choreography: Shaiann Roach (@shaiannroach)

BTS Photos: Kioni Sasaki Picou (@sukosizee)




Below are some more of our favourite Beauty Supply shoots that were not at Clore but still left us in awe.


Beyonce for ELLE Magazine

by Melina Matsoukas

beyonce inside of a wig room at a beauty supply store wearing Ivy Park and blonde jumbo braids.
Beyonce Ivy Park Promo. Shot by Melina Matsoukas



Photographer Portfolio Shoot Beauty Supply Store by Fanta isatou Gai




'Back to my Roots' Rupaul Tribute by Symone


Credits:

Drag Queen: Symone

Pic/Creative/Outfit: @thehouseofavalon

Hair: @malcolm.marquez

Store: Harmony Beauty Supply


19 views0 comments